Ullswater and skylarks


Few things can compare to a day like this. Sailing on the wonderful Ullswater Steamer from Glenridding to Pooley Bridge in lovely weather, Phil, my compatriot, and I started to compile a list of birds for the entertainment of the group we were supporting on the RSPB “Skylark Cruise”. I use the term, group, loosely, as there were only four lovely folks. We had a great time spotting kestrel, buzzard, peregrine, linnet, yellowhammer and, of course, skylarks!. What a gift to see and hear them in such plentitude. Such a rare sight, and sadly becoming rarer. to set it off I read John Clare’s poem, “The Skylark” to the assembled throng. Seemed fitting.

Published by

keithfitton

Left with the use of my left arm/hand only, after a serious motor cycle accident in 2005, I am learning to adapt to life with a brachial plexus injury and have developed a style of playing guitar using open tunings. I love drawing, painting and generally messing around in a fairly loose fashion. Can't describe myself as an artist, but perhaps a doodler with intent.

Leave a Reply

