To Mum – a fantasy

If I could take you away, perhaps just for one day

from the floured fablon table to a different world

I would

If I could sweep you away in my Volvo V70

to Manchester’s new glistening shopping centre

I would

Buy you a fantastic meal in a fantastic restaurant

where the waiters wear suits and call you madam

I would

Watch you hold my children in your loving arms

and whisper sweet sweet nothings in their ears

I would

Show you where we live close to Keswick

and the tree lined walk to the lake you loved

I would

But all I remember is March 1974

and placing that note in your coffin

You know – the one that never ever can burn away.

 

 

Published by

keithfitton

Left with the use of my left arm/hand only, after a serious motor cycle accident in 2005, I am learning to adapt to life with a brachial plexus injury and have developed a style of playing guitar using open tunings. I love drawing, painting and generally messing around in a fairly loose fashion. Can't describe myself as an artist, but perhaps a doodler with intent.

Leave a Reply

