Bob Dylan is playing at the Hop Farm Festival on Saturday. I’ll be there with my son Rob…………

Here’s a poem about Bob.

“in or out”
he shouted
taking the street by whole surprise
as if announcing an unwanted pregnancy
or the return of a long lost son.

“who is this” sayeth the voice
curling from below
unspoken but heard
(the voice of the earth – solid and unremitting
stone and clay- clay and stone)
the after war voice
standing unshaken in its steadiness
when all is done and dusted
and things settle down
to an even keel
an whispering strange tidings the voice continued
like a snake wind – gathering force as it whips through millstone dread lancashire mill stone walls.

the voice cared not for its listening but cut – like a stiletto tone
into the heart of the matterless kingdom
wrestling just north of manchester
to my birth town

where you stayed
reputedly
drinking in my pub (the bridge at ewood bridge)
reputedly
oh was it you – voiceful master
weaving mystery strands in my air
was it you or your shadow (stuart bradshaw) I saw
in 1966
after your triumph.

thirty five years later
i heard your voice like an alley phantom
questing me
touching me
in that way you know you can do
full on.
“out or in”
he echoed
tapping out a rhythm on his old gibson
stroking those strings in memorium of old stage hands visiting doc watson’s surgery
billy hills and billy kids
lurking neath protected sunsets and the welcoming flame of wondering heights

until now
at
the point of arrival
when coming back to haunt me
i see her
in all glory dressed to thrill
carrying a message
written to kill
on an ancient paper
by a wroth begotten pen of iron and promise

and finally.
a frozen hotel room in Russell Square
WC2
running a set of familiar words
(down familiar tracks with open windows on a half gutted evening)
set to the rhythm of my lived in memories
coming to life
like a snake rousing from hibernation

Published by

keithfitton

Left with the use of my left arm/hand only, after a serious motor cycle accident in 2005, I am learning to adapt to life with a brachial plexus injury and have developed a style of playing guitar using open tunings. I love drawing, painting and generally messing around in a fairly loose fashion. Can't describe myself as an artist, but perhaps a doodler with intent.

Leave a Reply

