Communion

IMG_8480

 

I was down at the local timber yard the other week getting some fence posts. Before leaving, I asked the lady who runs the outfit whether she had any spare offcuts for firewood. She directed me to a place around the corner where  a number of sacks laden with timber pieces lay sadly propped. She said I could take one of those if I liked. They were just waste anyway. So off I went with posts and a bag full of whatever. Later I was chopping some of the wood up for kindling when, at the bottom of this sack, lay five blocks of pine. They had obviously been chopped off as waste from a job, and discarded to be burnt. These were/are lovely bits of wood, rich in grain and colour. I lay them out and over the next few days contemplated, albeit not too consciously what I could do with them. I picked them up, felt them, looked at them, arranged them in various configurations and decided that I would design a sculpture with them. I sanded the blocks and oiled them with teak oil before joining two together to form symbolic figures meeting over a table. I think of the piece as an exploration of how we see and experience relationship and the space/coming together dynamic that drives all meetings. Its called Communion. I may never do another sculpture but at least I’ve done one!

Published by

keithfitton

Left with the use of my left arm/hand only, after a serious motor cycle accident in 2005, I am learning to adapt to life with a brachial plexus injury and have developed a style of playing guitar using open tunings. I love drawing, painting and generally messing around in a fairly loose fashion. Can't describe myself as an artist, but perhaps a doodler with intent.

2 thoughts on “Communion”

  1. I have recently taken to going through my own firewood, and saving the interesting bits for possible future sculptures – watch out, it could be come an obsession! 🙂

    1. I picked up a nice piece of driftwood from Maryport beach today Katie. Thought I might do something with it but it was so cold I ended up chopping it up for firewood. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

