An act of kindness revisited

Most of the time we live our lives in a bubble of self, thinking about what we want to do and how we would like to spend our time, days and money.  Just occasionally something happens to remind you that we are all in this little adventure together, chugging our way through an increasingly fragile existence, down an increasingly narrow channel. And we all could sometimes do with a helping hand. Wind the clock back to the autumn of 1974 when I was living back in Haslingden, Lancashire when I had just lost my mum at a tragically early age. I was feeling lonely and pretty broken-up. At that time I was mating out with a group of friends from Ramsbottom, just down the road. These friends included Alan Fletcher, Bryan Johnson (now sadly gone), Brian French and his girl Angela and Pete Whiteside. Out of the blue they called me to say they wanted to treat me. Now at the time I was on the dole, spending time doing the housework and cooking for my dad. In other words – I was broke. What they did was to buy me a ticket for the what-was-to-become historic first rock concert at Wembley  stadium featuring The Band, Joni Mitchell and Crosby Stills Nash and Young. Not only that, they bought me the return train ticket so I could go down with them. It was a never to be forgotten act of kindness that I’ll always treasure. Winding back to 2013, there are reports that CSNY are preparing to release a live album of that concert in August. See here. If you can’t wait, then here is the entire set from this supercharged set of space cowboys. A flawed, yet glorious happening.

Published by

keithfitton

Left with the use of my left arm/hand only, after a serious motor cycle accident in 2005, I am learning to adapt to life with a brachial plexus injury and have developed a style of playing guitar using open tunings. I love drawing, painting and generally messing around in a fairly loose fashion. Can't describe myself as an artist, but perhaps a doodler with intent.

Leave a Reply

