Oodles of doodles

IMG_9692

I was at an art event the other night and a fella was talking to me about my art work and he said that he “quite liked some of my doodles”. Now this is a member of an art group whose ranks I have applied to join, so he is quite at rights to run his critical eye over my work to see whether it meets the requires standard for entry. His remark though caused me some initial angst. A doodle, after all is considered to be a “minor” creation of no serious merit. Something you might do unconsciously, just letting the pen move automatically, as it draws the  doodle. Upon reflection though I have come to regard this remark as a complement. After all its what my art is all about – letting things happen, in a spontaneous unplanned way. The more I try and force it to be something, or represent something outside of myself the more it looks false. So from here on in, doodles it is!

Published by

keithfitton

Left with the use of my left arm/hand only, after a serious motor cycle accident in 2005, I am learning to adapt to life with a brachial plexus injury and have developed a style of playing guitar using open tunings. I love drawing, painting and generally messing around in a fairly loose fashion. Can't describe myself as an artist, but perhaps a doodler with intent.

3 thoughts on “Oodles of doodles”

  1. I’d have raised my eyebrows at the ‘quite like’ too. Are you sure you want to join the group? I love your work and wold hope to express myself better. Sitting in front of a nude model doesn’t suggest ‘unplanned’ activity!

Leave a Reply

